Across the country, governors, judges, election officials, and members of Congress have launched an attack on your civil rights. Hundreds of restrictive voting laws have been introduced this year, states have banned a woman's right to choose, and extremists are targeting the accurate teaching of our history in our classrooms.

Congress has failed to stand up and pass protective voting rights, criminal justice, and public safety reforms, but you can make a difference by voting in this year's midterm elections. Reclaim your vote, your voice, and your power by registering to vote.


Why Vote?

Civil rights are under attack.

Efforts are underway to roll back hard-fought advances in equality of opportunity.  We cannot afford to let our voices be silenced.

Our schools are in danger.

Urban public schools are under-funded and civil rights enforcement in education is under attack.  We must be a nation that respects educational inclusion.

Everyone deserves healthcare.

Politicians want to repeal and deny access to Obamacare, which will increase the rate of uninsured Blacks.  The healthcare for millions depends on you.

Racially-motivated hate crimes are on the rise.

Use of unjustified violence by police against unarmed people of color goes unchecked.  Your vote is a voice for those whose lives have been taken.

Follow the money.

Black household income is 40% less than that of White Americans.  The poverty rate is more than twice as high. Black workers are paid less than whites at every educational level.


ARE YOU REGISTERED TO VOTE?  Search for your voter registration record.

DO YOU KNOW YOUR RIGHTS AS AN EX-FELON IN NEW JERSEY?  If you are not serving a sentence of incarceration as the result of a conviction of any indictable offense under the laws of this or another state or of the United States…, you CAN vote in NJ by completing a new voter registration form.  If you have any questions, contact your County Commissioner of Registration.

WANT TO BE A POLL WORKER?  Find out how to become a poll worker for the 2023 General Election



Statewide Election (Primary) - Tuesday, June 4, 2024

Register to Vote / Voter Registration Deadline (by mail, in-person, online) - by Tuesday, October 15, 2024

Early Voting - Wednesday, May 29 - Sunday, June 2, 2024

Apply for a Mail-In Ballot by Mail (General Election) - by Tuesday, October 29, 2024

Apply for a Mail-In Ballot in Person (General Election) - by Monday, November 4, 2024 by 3pm

Statewide Presidential Election (General) - Tuesday, November 5, 2024; polling times are generally 6am - 8pm

Governor - Phil Murphy

Lieutenant Governor - Tahesha Way

Legislative Members by Municipality

Legislative District by Number - Essex County Districts are 27, 28 and 29

County Executive - Joseph N. DiVencenzo, Jr.

Chief of Staff - Philip B. Alagia

Essex County Clerk - Christopher J. Durkin

Deputy Chief of Staff - M. Teresa Ruiz

Deputy Chief of Staff - William D. Payne

County Commissioners
Wayne L. Richardson, President
Carlos Pomares, Vice President
Brendan W. Gill
Rufus I. Johnson
Patricia Sebold
Romaine Graham
Robert Mercado
Tyshammie L. Cooper
Leonard M. Luciano

Essex County Directory